top of page
Our Rabbi
Board & Staff


Rabbi Sharon Cohen was born in Miami, Florida, and spent her teen years in Chattanooga, Tennessee. As an undergraduate, Rabbi Cohen was a double major in History and Jewish and Near Eastern Studies at Washington University in St. Louis. She earned a Masters...

Rabbi Photo for Website 2.JPG


Dedication. Expertise. Passion.

President - Tamar Paltrow

1st VP - Laurie Rovin

2nd VP/Membership - Michael Krauss

3rd VP/Education - Sue Lasser

Recording Secretary - Bonnie Kessler

Treasurer - Lance Feldman

Financial Secretary - Mike Ungar

Corresponding Secretary - Erica Zaglin

Kitchen Chair - Terri Jermon

Sisterhood Chair - Cheryl Gleich

Men's Club Chair - Neal Baskin

Ritual Committee Chair - Barry Nocks

Religious School Director - Stephanie Glasser-Alfieri


Serving CBI and the Greenville Jewish Community


Men's Club

The Men’s Club of Congregation Beth Israel is a friendly group. Our club welcomes synagogue members of all age to share their many talents for the benefit of the community. Leadership opportunities are available.  If you are interested in becoming more fully connected with the CBI and our congregants, taking on a leadership role with Men’s Club is a great way to get to know everyone and do some real good.

Religious School

Working in partnership with our students, families, and congregation to provide an outstanding Pre K-12th grade Jewish education, we seek to nurture our young people to appreciate and celebrate their Jewish identity in the context of modern American life and to inspire our children to be committed to a life of Jewish living and learning.
2015 Sisterhood luncheon Oct 11-2015.jpg


Sisterhood is continually looking for ways to engage women in all stages of their lives. We bring together women of all ages to share in fun, interactive, and spiritually inspired events. Through Sisterhood, we hope you will continue to grow in leadership roles and in your understanding and enjoyment of Judaism. Our Sisterhood is affiliated with Women’s League for Conservative Judaism and supports Torah Fund.

Aged to Perfection

Congregation Beth Israel is proud to introduce our reinvented Senior Lunch and Seminar series now called: Aged to Perfection. A monthly program where we meet to discuss topics that effect the senior and Jewish communities here in South Carolina. Open to everyone 55 years and over in our Jewish community. Please join us for lunch, seminar and add your input into future programs/topics for the year.
CBI Building.JPG

Kesher Group

Congregation Beth Israel is proud to introduce our reinvented youth group called: Kesher Group. Kesher Group is for member between the ages of 21 and 54. It is a monthly program where we meet to discuss topics that effect the members of the Jewish communities here in South Carolina as well as hangout.
CBI Building.JPG


Come and see what we're about, enjoy our services and special events, and if you feel Beth Israel might be the place for you, we encourage you to join our community.
Please contact for membership information, our dues, and application.

PLEASE NOTE HOWEVER - finances are NEVER a barrier to membership. Please feel free to speak directly and confidentially to Rabbi Sharon Cohen if you wish to join but have monetary concerns.  All discussions of finances will be kept in the strictest of confidence.
Religious School
bottom of page